Trophy History

Created in 1993 by the Football Writers Association of America, the Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football and is presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The award was established to compliment the Heisman Trophy Award which never been presented to a defensive player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet not only recognizes the best college defensive player, but also helps to raise money to recognize the recipients of our regional high school and college scholarships. All proceeds benefit the Charlotte Touchdown Club Scholarship Fund.

"The Football Writers Association of America has enjoyed its relationship with the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. We think it is a very worthwhile award that honors the best player on the defensive side of the ball in college football. The Charlotte Touchdown Club has done a magnificent job of presenting and marketing the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. We look forward to our continued association with the Charlotte touchdown Club."

Steve Richardson,  Executive Director, Football Writers Association of America