Pop Warner Defensive/Scholastic Team of the Year Award

Pop Warner Team of the Year 2014

The Mallard Creek Chargers Jr. PeeWee Team – Coach Thomas JP

The Mallard Creek Chargers Jr. PeeWee Team – Coach Reggie Thomas

Pop Warner Little Scholars is an international program that operates for the benefit of its youth participants. Since 1929, the program’s philosophy has been: Academics and Athletics go hand-in-hand. Pop Warner strives to make the game fun for all boys and girls. The program stresses lessons of value far beyond the playing field for the boys and girls involved, such as; self-discipline, teamwork, concentration, friendship, leadership, and good sportsmanship. With such goals in mind, and by providing an opportunity to participate in an organized, supervised environment with emphasis on maximum safety and participation, Pop Warner offers young men and women a unique and memorable experience.

Pop Warner is the first real football or cheerleading experience for most of the participants. At every level, Pop Warner Football seeks to develop well rounded young men and women who learn not only the fundamentals of football and cheerleading, but also the importance of education in an environment conducive to developing sound mind, body and character – and having an enjoyable time along the way. Pop Warner Football in the Mecklenburg County area has been sponsored by the Mecklenburg Optimist club since 1957. The Little Panthers’ League has grown from 23 teams in 1994 to 100 for the 2012 season. Over 2,600 football players and 300 cheerleaders participated in the league this year. The Optimist Club recognizes scholastic achievement by presenting scholarships to deserving players and cheerleaders each year. In addition, at the conclusion of the season, the Doc Martin Sportsmanship award is presented to deserving teams in each age/weight division.

The Pop Warner Little Panthers’ Defensive/Scholastic Team of the Year is determined by the defensive prowess and cumulative scholastic achievements of the entire team. The Mallard Creek Chargers Jr. PeeWee team coached by Reggie Thomas finished the regular season with an 8-0 record, and played in the league championship game. The team has not only excelled on the playing field by allowing fewer than three points per game, but also has a team grade point average over 93. Eight players on the team are candidates for Pop Warner Scholastic All-American recognition.

Front Row Left to Right: Dylan Bisson, Brennan McCall, Trae Nickelson, Gavin Thomas, Kameron Manley, Seth Davis, Kishawn Lee-Grier, Devon Gibbs, Nigel Sadler

Second Row Left to Right: Jaylin Milton-Hall, RJ Dunn, Tyler Tuxbury, Alexander Bailey, Khalil Archie, Erinn Summers, Marcus Morgan, Khaleel McAuley

Third Row Left to Right: Cameron Goodwin, Tate Grewell, Joshua Reid, Jaydon Williams, Chris Parker, NaShawn Pritchett, Josh Taylor, Xavier McKenzie

Fourth Row Left to Right: Ellie Nickelson, Milton McCall, Ivan Fairley, Dean Bisson, Coach Reggie Thomas, Kevin Davis, Rob Dunn, Hollis Williams, Christian Hall

Not Pictured: Gunnar Moen